Programme of Events for 2022 July to December         
Photo:- Roy Romsey

2022

June

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Queen's Jubilee - Royalty in Romsey Exhibition: Free Entry 
 Organised by: LTVAS members 
Venue: Romsey Town Hall Court Room 

 Thursday 2nd June - Sunday 5th June 

 10.00 am to 4.00 pm each day - all welcome

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

A Walk - An Introduction to the

History of Romsey 
Walk Leaders : Committee Members
Meet at the "Charter Stone" opposite the Tourist Information Centre
Date: Monday 6th June at 7.00 p.m.

 

A Tour of Nursling Church and its Environs.
Guide: Stephen Cooper
Meet at St. Boniface Church, Nursling - Limited parking in lane by the church; please car-share if possible
Date: Thursday 23rd June at 7.00 p.m.

 

July - local history village event

Timsbury History Day:- 

- morning talks incl. refreshments (£5) by Frank Green, Gary Seymour & Mary Harris 

- afternoon displays of photos and artefacts - activities including medieval tile making

- identify your local pottery/artefacts finds. 

Venue: St Andrew's Church, Timsbury Date: Saturday 23rd July  9.30 to 16.30

August

 

Botley Road Cemetery: a slide show
Host: Phoebe Merrick
Venue: Romsey Town Hall Court Room
Date: Friday 12th August at 2.15 pm

------------- Summer Break --------------

September 

House Detectives
Speaker: Barbara Burbridge
Venue: Romsey Town Hall Court Room
Monday 12th September, 7.30 pm

 
Botley Road Cemetery, Romsey: a walk

Guide: Phoebe Merrick
Meet at Botley Road Cemetery Chapel 
Tues. 13th September at 10.30 am

 

The Iconography of Corbels
Speaker: Terry Proctor
Venue: Romsey Town Hall Court Room
Thurs. 29th September at 7.30 pm

October

The Search for New and Unusual Plants
Speaker: Kevin Hobbs

Venue : Romsey Town Hall Court Room
Monday 10th October at 7.30 pm

 

Remembrance Events : a slide show
Speaker: Phoebe Merrick
Venue : Romsey Town Hall Court Room
Friday 21st October at 2.15 pm

The History of Timsbury

Speaker: Mary Harris

Venue : Romsey Town Hall Court Room

Thursday 27th October at 7.30 p.m.

 

November

 

A.G.M. followed by :

Dark Days of World War II

Speaker: Phoebe Merrick
Venue : Town Hall Council Chamber
Monday 14th November at 7.30 p.m.

 

Hidden Gems of the Middle Test Valley 1 : Pittleworth, Bossington and Horsebridge
Speaker: Howard Green
Venue : Romsey Town Hall Court Room
Tuesday 15th November at 10.30 p.m.

 

The Schoolmaster's House and Schoolmasters, Station Road

Speaker: Philip Newman
Venue : Romsey Town Hall Court Room
Thursday 24th November at 7.30 p.m.

Plaques on Buildings in Romsey - a Slide Show

Host: Phoebe Merrick

Venue: Romsey Town Hall Court Room

Date: Friday 25th November 2.15pm

December

Christmas Film Show
Venue: Romsey Town Hall Court Room 

Monday 12th Dec. at 7.30 p.m.