top of page
  Events January 2024 to June 2024         
Photo:- Roy Romsey
Meetings held in January and February 2024 will be via Zoom sessions plus a few in other months.
Other meetings will take place at Romsey Town Hall either in the Court Room, downstairs, or in the
Council Chamber, upstairs, which can be accessed by a new "proper" lift installed in the rear of the Town Hall for the convenience of those who may have difficulty using the front staircase.
 All events maybe subject to change at short notice.
Register your email  "here" to receive notifications of links to Zoom & details of any changes. 

January 2024

Monday 8th January 7.30pm
How Archaeology has changed over the

last fifty years: in the Test Valley & beyond

Speaker: Dr. Mike Heyworth

Venue:  Zoom meeting

 

Thursday 25th January 7.30pm

Mashed Potato Sandwiches & Bottle-top Tinsel
Speaker: Dr. Ann Featherstone
Venue: Zoom meeting

February 2024

 

Monday 12th February 7.30pm

Hamtun : The Late Saxon ( 9th - 11th Centuries) Settlement in Southampton
Speaker: Matt Garner
Venue: Zoom meeting

Thursday 22nd February 7.30pm

King Cnut
Speaker: Professor Ryan Lavelle
Venue: Zoom meeting

March 2024

Monday 11th March 7.30pm

Note Change of Topic from paper copy

Lady Mary Wortley Montague - Sex, Smallpox and the Salisbury Connection

Speaker: Mary South

Venue: Town Hall Council Chamber

 

Friday 22nd March 2.15pm

Braishfield - A Slide Show
Host: Phoebe Merrick
Venue: Town Hall Court Room

 

Thursday 28th March 7.30pm

Old Bones Tell Tales : an introduction to the work of the forensic anthropologist
Speaker: Professor Margaret Cox
Venue: Town Hall Court Room

 

April 2024 

Monday 8th April 7.30 p.m.

Note Change of Topic from paper copy

An Armchair Tour around Medieval Southampton 

Speaker: Dr. Cheryl Butler

Venue: Town Hall Council Chamber

 

Friday 19th April 2.15 p.m.

The Hundred, Market Place to Latimer Street - A Slide Show
Host: Phoebe Merrick
Venue: Town Hall Court Room

Thursday 25th April 7.30 p.m.

The Mayflower Connection
Speaker: Helen Baggott
Venue: "Zoom" Meeting


May 2024 

Monday 13th May  7.30 pm

The Logistical Build-Up to D-Day

Speaker: Chris Barrington-Brown 

Venue: Town Hall Council Chamber

Thursday 23rd May 7.00 p.m.

A Visit - Ashley Church and Castle Bank 
Leader: Mary Harris
Meet at: St. Mary's Church, Ashley - 2 miles east of Kings Somborne


June 2024

Monday 10th June 7.00 p.m.

A Walk - The Hundred from the Market Place to Latimer Street

Leader: Phoebe Merrick

Meet at: Outside Nationwide Premises

 

Thursday 27th June at 7.00 p.m.

Nursling Mill and surroundings - a Walk

Leader: Stephen Cooper

Meet at: Nursling Church car parkThis will be a walk of some distance along a footpath.

bottom of page