Events January 2022 to June 2022         
Photo:- Roy Romsey
Covid-19  : "Face to Face" meetings will take place in the Town Hall Court Room
downstairs during 2022, where "Space, Mask and Hands" restrictions may also
apply, however most events in Jan. and Feb. will be held online using "Zoom".
Register your email  "here" to receive details & notification of any changes. 
All events maybe subject to change at short notice.

 

Please Note : A few meetings will be held in the Council Chamber upstairs which can be accessed by a new "proper"

lift installed in the rear stairwell for the convenience of those who may have difficulty using the front staircase. 

January 2022

​Monday 10th January at 7.30 p.m.

Old Sarum Documents

Speaker: June Effemy

Venue: Zoom Meeting

Thursday 27th January at 7.30pm

Old Sarum: Archaeological Interventions in the West Suburbs

Speaker: Dr. Alex Langlands

Venue: Zoom Meeting

 

February 2022

 

Monday 14th February at 7.30pm

Building Myths

Speaker: Dr. James Wright

Venue: Zoom Meeting

Tuesday 15th February, 10.30am

North Baddesley Church

Speaker: Ronnie Munday

Venue: Town Hall Court Room

Thursday 24th February, 7.30pm

Archaeology and Treasure

Speaker: Dr. Mike Heyworth

Venue: Zoom meeting

 

March 2022

From March meetings will be in the Town Hall

 

Monday 14th March, 7.30pm

OS Mapping

Speaker: Professor Roger Leech

Venue: Town Hall Court Room

Tuesday 15th March, 10.30am

The History of English Pottery before 1750 Speaker: Roger Harris

Venue: Town Hall Court Room

Friday 25th March, 2.15pm

Timsbury - A Slide Show

Host: Phoebe Merrick

Venue: Town Hall Court Room

Thursday 31st March, 7.30pm

Securing the Future of Churches, Churchyards, and their Monuments

Speaker: Dr. Frank Green

Venue: Town Hall Court Room

April 2022 

Monday 11th April 7.30 p.m.

The Lost Soldiers of Fromelles 1916:

Naming the Dead
Speaker: Professor Margaret Cox
Venue: Town Hall Court Room

Tuesday 12th April 10.30am

Florence Suckling - Local Historian
Speaker: Sybil Warner
Venue: Town Hall Court Room

Friday 22nd April 2.15pm

Banning Street - A Slide Show
Host: Phoebe Merrick
Venue: Town Hall Court Room

Date: Thursday 28th April 7.30pm

A Mid 14th Century Lady of Landford

and her goods.
Speaker: Professor Chris Woolgar
Venue: Town Hall Court Room


 

May 2022 
 

Monday 9th May 7.30 p.m.

Mass Observation in Southampton
Speaker: Phoebe Merrick
Venue: Town Hall Council Chamber


Thursday 26th May 7.00 p.m.

Romsey's new flood defences - a Walk
Leader: Alec Morley
Meet at the Memorial Park entrance gate.


 

June 2022
 

Monday 6th June 7.00pm

Introduction to the History of Romsey - a Walk

Leaders: Committee members
Venue: Meet at the Charter Stone


Thursday 23rd June 7.00pm

Nursling Church and its Environs - a Walk
Leader: Stephen Cooper
Venue: Meet at Nursling Church.

There is little space for parking so please share cars if possible.